About Us
Hi, my name is Diana and I took over the running of High Swinside in March 2016 from its previous owners, Jacques and Hilary (who are well and still living in the area if youíve stayed here before and were wondering how they are). I live across the way in the Brewhouse should you need any help, suggestions for walks, or delicious free range eggs. Otherwise please make yourselves completely at home as if I wasnít there.

Some previous history ...as a smallholder
I moved here from a smallholding in the Shropshire hills where I milked goats, made cheese, kept hens, and grew organic fruit & veg. Three lovely hens came with me, but alas there was no room here for the goats! I also have a cat called Raffa that you might see about the place...

Though born further south, my fatherís family was originally from the north, and Iíve long felt the Cumbrian fells to be my spiritual home - a feeling common to many people, Iím sure.
...as a walker and walking guide
Iíve walked here for many years and have worked here as a walking guide. So if you need any suggestions or advice about walks, donít hesitate to ask. I hope I can help. You will also find plenty of maps and walking books in your cottage which you are welcome to borrow during your stay. (A youthful looking photo - I'm now 10 years older!)
...running holidays & an airbnb
In Shropshire I also had an airbnb, and before that I spent 10 years running a walking holiday company. I hope those experiences of looking after people on holiday will help me in taking over from Jacques & Hilary. I know Iíll have plenty more to learn on the job - so please bear with me and I truly welcome your suggestions.
I hope you enjoy your stay
Whether youíve stayed at High Swinside before or are thinking of coming for the first time I hope you will have a wonderful holiday, all the time and space you are looking for in this beautiful setting, and will make yourselves completely at home.

Thank you, Diana Clarke, ĎRaffaí the cat, and my 7 hens (too many names to include here!)

My website guru brother
This is my brother Oliver, who is responsible for the technical side of this website. He served in Greater Manchester Police for 30 years, but is now retired and living in East Ayrshire in Scotland with his wife Naomi.

Oliver is a very keen landscape photographer and spends as much time as possible in and around Skye and Wester Ross. When not behind a camera lens he designs and builds database-driven websites for friends (and now me, of course, for which I'm hugely grateful).

If you notice something wrong with the site please use his contact email on the Contact page so he can fix it.