Little Swinside
Little Swinside Cottage has been converted from the original barn attached to the farmhouse; there are old oak beams in the main rooms. Most of the accommodation is upstairs - the double bedroom, sitting/dining room, kitchen, and bathroom. Downstairs there is a delightful patio room with exceptional views down the Lorton valley and French windows that lead onto a small terrace with table and chairs. The patio room also has a sofa bed that can be used for children. For large groups Little Swinside can be let with the Farmhouse next door; the two are connected via a lockable door. See below for photos, information, and availability.
  • Sleeps 2-4
  • 1 Bedroom (& a sofa bed in the patio room)
  • Good wifi & fibre broadband
  • Woodburning Stove (logs included)
  • 1 well-behaved dog welcome
  • Saturday changeover in school holidays
  • Short breaks available outside school hols
  • Hot tub usually available (10 a night)
  • Bed linen included. Towel hire 2
  • All heating & electricity included
  • Free range eggs available
  • Arrival after 15:00; Departure 10:00
  • Nearest pub - 1 mile
  • Keswick 8 miles, Cockermouth 6 miles
Patio Room
The downstairs patio room opens out through sliding patio doors onto its own small terrace overlooking the garden and the valley beyond. The views are magnificent.

This room is centrally heated. It has a sofa bed and can be used as an extra bedroom for children. There are beams and other original features.
Double Bedroom
Stairs lead to the first floor and main living areas.

The double bedroom has an oak beamed ceiling and built-in wardrobes. It shares that same wonderful view over the Lorton valley, but you can also see towards the distant Scottish mountains (especially once the trees shed their leaves in autumn!)
Sitting/Dining Room
The cosy sitting/dining room is furnished with sofa and arm chairs, dining table, and a TV with DVD. The room looks north and east towards the Lorton Fells

There are are also lots of books, maps, and games that you are welcome to use.
Log burner in sitting room
The sitting room also has a log burner for those autumn, winter, and spring evenings - or anytime you want a little more warmth.
Kitchen
A door leads from the sitting room into the galley kitchen. The kitchen is well equipped with an electric cooker and a ceramic hob, microwave and fridge. (There are laundry facilities in the basement below the cottage, and a large chest freezer there for guests to use, accessible from the exterior).
Bathroom
The bathroom is next to the bedroom and includes a shower over the bath.
Patio
This is the view from the patio looking south east towards Whiteside - in winter.
Patio
Little Swinside patio showing a reflection of the view across the valley.
The Garden
The garden is shared with the Farmhouse and larger cottage. It has a picnic table and benches for enjoying the view, hammocks under the trees, and gated access onto the open fells with wonderful walks right on your doorstep.
Dog friendly & path to Lorton village
The garden also has an enclosed area where dogs are free to roam safely.

In the lower garden there are free range hens - and you are welcome to buy their eggs!

Through another gate a green lane leads in 20 minutes to Lorton village with its excellent village shop. The friendly dog-welcoming Wheatsheaf pub is 10 minutes further on and serves a very good menu!
Other Information
Little Swinside has central heating with radiators in all rooms. The water is heated by immersion heater. The shower is electrically heated.

Extensive parking
Boiler room
Laundry room
Shared garden
Enclosed garden area for dogs
Hot tub & barbecue
Secure bike storage
Open fell access
Free range eggs available
Beds will be made up for you
No smoking in the cottages

Patio Room
The downstairs patio room opens out through sliding patio doors onto its own small terrace overlooking the garden and the valley beyond. The views are magnificent.

This room is centrally heated. It has a sofa bed and can be used as an extra bedroom for children. There are beams and other original features.

Double Bedroom
Stairs lead to the first floor and main living areas.

The double bedroom has an oak beamed ceiling and built-in wardrobes. It shares that same wonderful view over the Lorton valley, but you can also see towards the distant Scottish mountains (especially once the trees shed their leaves in autumn!)

Sitting/Dining Room
The cosy sitting/dining room is furnished with sofa and arm chairs, dining table, and a TV with DVD. The room looks north and east towards the Lorton Fells

There are are also lots of books, maps, and games that you are welcome to use.

Log burner in sitting room
The sitting room also has a log burner for those autumn, winter, and spring evenings - or anytime you want a little more warmth.

Kitchen
A door leads from the sitting room into the galley kitchen. The kitchen is well equipped with an electric cooker and a ceramic hob, microwave and fridge. (There are laundry facilities in the basement below the cottage, and a large chest freezer there for guests to use, accessible from the exterior).

Bathroom
The bathroom is next to the bedroom and includes a shower over the bath.

Patio
This is the view from the patio looking south east towards Whiteside - in winter.

Patio
Little Swinside patio showing a reflection of the view across the valley.

The Garden
The garden is shared with the Farmhouse and larger cottage. It has a picnic table and benches for enjoying the view, hammocks under the trees, and gated access onto the open fells with wonderful walks right on your doorstep.

Dog friendly & path to Lorton village
The garden also has an enclosed area where dogs are free to roam safely.

In the lower garden there are free range hens - and you are welcome to buy their eggs!

Through another gate a green lane leads in 20 minutes to Lorton village with its excellent village shop. The friendly dog-welcoming Wheatsheaf pub is 10 minutes further on and serves a very good menu!

Other Information
Little Swinside has central heating with radiators in all rooms. The water is heated by immersion heater. The shower is electrically heated.

Extensive parking
Boiler room
Laundry room
Shared garden
Enclosed garden area for dogs
Hot tub & barbecue
Secure bike storage
Open fell access
Free range eggs available
Beds will be made up for you
No smoking in the cottages
Little Swinside Booking Information

Hi! You'll find the Little Swinside calendar below. If a date is in blue, it's booked. All other dates are available and the colours tell you the prices at different times of year.

You can arrive any day of the week except in school holidays when bookings are Sat to Sat for a minimum of 7 nights. Outside school holidays there is a minimum stay of 2 nights arriving whichever day of the week suits you.

The Calendar below allows you to make bookings online from a Saturday or a Tuesday (just click on the date you want). For all other start days and lengths of stay please contact me by email: diana@highswinside.co.uk or phone me on 01900 85206. Payments can be made by bank transfer or by cheque.


Little Swinside Prices for 2019
Low: 7 Nights: £315, 3-4 Nights: £235
Mid: 7 Nights: £355, 3-4 Nights: £265
High: 7 Nights: £430

Little Swinside Availability for 2019
Key: Low Mid High Booked
January
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
February
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15
Little Swinside

Saturday, 16th February 2019


3-day break ending Tue 19-Feb-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 23-Feb-2019Booked
10-day break ending Tue 26-Feb-2019Booked
14-day break ending Sat 02-Mar-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28
March
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1
Little Swinside

Saturday, 2nd March 2019


3-day break ending Tue 05-Mar-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 09-Mar-2019Booked
10-day break ending Tue 12-Mar-2019Booked
14-day break ending Sat 16-Mar-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15
Little Swinside

Saturday, 16th March 2019


3-day break ending Tue 19-Mar-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 23-Mar-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 26-Mar-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 30-Mar-2019£630
Click this button to book!
17
18
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 19th March 2019


4-day break ending Sat 23-Mar-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 26-Mar-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 30-Mar-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 02-Apr-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
20 21 22
Little Swinside

Saturday, 23rd March 2019


3-day break ending Tue 26-Mar-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 30-Mar-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 02-Apr-2019Booked
14-day break ending Sat 06-Apr-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
24
25
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 26th March 2019


3-day break ending Fri 29-Mar-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 02-Apr-2019Unavailable
10-day break ending Fri 05-Apr-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 09-Apr-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
27 28 29 30 31
April
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12
Little Swinside

Saturday, 13th April 2019


3-day break ending Tue 16-Apr-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Sat 20-Apr-2019£430
10-day break ending Tue 23-Apr-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 27-Apr-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
14
15
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 16th April 2019


3-day break ending Fri 19-Apr-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 23-Apr-2019Unavailable
10-day break ending Fri 26-Apr-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 30-Apr-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30
May
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
June
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
July
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
August
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2
Little Swinside

Saturday, 3rd August 2019


-day break ending Sat 03-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Sat 10-Aug-2019£430
7-day break ending Sat 10-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 17-Aug-2019£860
Click this button to book!
4
5
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 6th August 2019


-day break ending Tue 06-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 13-Aug-2019£430
7-day break ending Tue 13-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 20-Aug-2019£860
Click this button to book!
7 8 9
Little Swinside

Saturday, 10th August 2019


3-day break ending Tue 13-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Sat 17-Aug-2019£430
10-day break ending Tue 20-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 24-Aug-2019£860
Click this button to book!
11
12
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 13th August 2019


3-day break ending Fri 16-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 20-Aug-2019£430
10-day break ending Fri 23-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 27-Aug-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
14 15 16
Little Swinside

Saturday, 17th August 2019


3-day break ending Tue 20-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Sat 24-Aug-2019£430
10-day break ending Tue 27-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 31-Aug-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
18
19
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 20th August 2019


3-day break ending Fri 23-Aug-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 27-Aug-2019Unavailable
10-day break ending Fri 30-Aug-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 03-Sep-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
September
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1
2 3 4 5 6
Little Swinside

Saturday, 7th September 2019


3-day break ending Tue 10-Sep-2019£265
7-day break ending Sat 14-Sep-2019Booked
10-day break ending Tue 17-Sep-2019£265
14-day break ending Sat 21-Sep-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
8
9 10 11 12 13
Little Swinside

Saturday, 14th September 2019


3-day break ending Tue 17-Sep-2019£265
7-day break ending Sat 21-Sep-2019Booked
10-day break ending Tue 24-Sep-2019Booked
14-day break ending Sat 28-Sep-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
October
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 1st October 2019


4-day break ending Sat 05-Oct-2019£265
7-day break ending Tue 08-Oct-2019£355
11-day break ending Sat 12-Oct-2019£620
14-day break ending Tue 15-Oct-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
2 3 4
Little Swinside

Saturday, 5th October 2019


3-day break ending Tue 08-Oct-2019£265
7-day break ending Sat 12-Oct-2019£355
10-day break ending Tue 15-Oct-2019Booked
14-day break ending Sat 19-Oct-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
6
7
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 8th October 2019


4-day break ending Sat 12-Oct-2019£265
7-day break ending Tue 15-Oct-2019Booked
11-day break ending Sat 19-Oct-2019Booked
14-day break ending Tue 22-Oct-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18
Little Swinside

Saturday, 19th October 2019


4-day break ending Wed 23-Oct-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Sat 26-Oct-2019£430
11-day break ending Wed 30-Oct-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 02-Nov-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
20
21
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 22nd October 2019


4-day break ending Sat 26-Oct-2019£265
7-day break ending Tue 29-Oct-2019Booked
11-day break ending Sat 02-Nov-2019Booked
14-day break ending Tue 05-Nov-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
November
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1
Little Swinside

Saturday, 2nd November 2019


3-day break ending Tue 05-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 09-Nov-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 12-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 16-Nov-2019£630
Click this button to book!
3
4
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 5th November 2019


4-day break ending Sat 09-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 12-Nov-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 16-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 19-Nov-2019£630
Click this button to book!
6 7 8
Little Swinside

Saturday, 9th November 2019


3-day break ending Tue 12-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 16-Nov-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 19-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 23-Nov-2019£630
Click this button to book!
10
11
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 12th November 2019


4-day break ending Sat 16-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 19-Nov-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 23-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 26-Nov-2019£630
Click this button to book!
13 14 15
Little Swinside

Saturday, 16th November 2019


3-day break ending Tue 19-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 23-Nov-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 26-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 30-Nov-2019£630
Click this button to book!
17
18
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 19th November 2019


4-day break ending Sat 23-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 26-Nov-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 30-Nov-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 03-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
20 21 22
Little Swinside

Saturday, 23rd November 2019


3-day break ending Tue 26-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 30-Nov-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 03-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 07-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
24
25
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 26th November 2019


4-day break ending Sat 30-Nov-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 03-Dec-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 07-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 10-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
27 28 29
Little Swinside

Saturday, 30th November 2019


3-day break ending Tue 03-Dec-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 07-Dec-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 10-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 14-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
December
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1
2
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 3rd December 2019


4-day break ending Sat 07-Dec-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 10-Dec-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 14-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 17-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
4 5 6
Little Swinside

Saturday, 7th December 2019


3-day break ending Tue 10-Dec-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 14-Dec-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 17-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Sat 21-Dec-2019£630
Click this button to book!
8
9
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 10th December 2019


4-day break ending Sat 14-Dec-2019£235
7-day break ending Tue 17-Dec-2019£315
11-day break ending Sat 21-Dec-2019£550
14-day break ending Tue 24-Dec-2019Booked
Click this button to book!
11 12 13
Little Swinside

Saturday, 14th December 2019


3-day break ending Tue 17-Dec-2019£235
7-day break ending Sat 21-Dec-2019£315
10-day break ending Tue 24-Dec-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Sat 28-Dec-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
15
16
Little Swinside

Tuesday, 17th December 2019


3-day break ending Fri 20-Dec-2019Unavailable
7-day break ending Tue 24-Dec-2019Unavailable
10-day break ending Fri 27-Dec-2019Unavailable
14-day break ending Tue 31-Dec-2019Unavailable
Click this button to book!
18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31